Bilocation Blues (SZS 282)

by suimasenscans

This relates to my situation. Somehow.

One of the more prevalent occurences of occult phenomena is bilocation, in which a person seemingly appears in two places at once. After Nami sees Chiri bilocating, Sensei suggests that a more mundane reason for it is probably to blame. As it turns out, Koishikawa is full of bilocating people, and investigating too deeply will only bring despair…

>> Get SZS 282 Here <<

[Translator: Umin; Typesetter: Oyashiro; Proofreader: Ariel]

>> TL Notes <<

(coming when I get some time on my hands, or someone takes pity and does them for me)
[Edit: I heard you. Umin]

This weekend, I will have to bilocate between studying for grad school entrance exams, grad school applications, finishing projects for this semester, etc, etc. If only I could decalocate.

Oyashiro

7 Comments to “Bilocation Blues (SZS 282)”

  1. But why so left-justified…😉

  2. Thank you.
    Umin, Mikoto’s patient is definitely not Asô Tarô but Ishiba Shigeru (page 9). For obvious reasons his cheeks are always drawn with two small circles. Look here: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/96/Rumsfeld_meets_Ishiba_15_November_2003_cropped_for_Ishiba.jpg and here: SZS chapter 134, page 61, panel 3 (There were some revealed secrets about the AEGIS system and, of course, there was this: http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=newsarchive&sid=apLM6Rsq0jXY. That’s why Nozomu is attacking Ishiba with a flying saucer in panel 7.)
    Since he’s from Brazil, try Marcus Tulio Tanaka (page 6). He plays for Nagoya Grampus.

    • Thank you for the correction, I’ll correct that in the wiki-entry (you could also just register on the wiki….😉 )
      As for Tanaka, it is just my personal policy to transcribe all Japanese names in Japanese order and Tanaka is a naturalized Japanese citizen. I’d personally feel bad to romanize the name in another way. The Tulio is written in Kanji as 闘莉王.

      • There’s no problem about word order. In this case it’s perfectly fine either way. But I don’t see a single argument for writing Turio instead of Tulio, which isn’t a genuine Japanese name but a Romanic name like Marcus. 闘莉王 is just one possible transcription of Tulio. In scripts (e. g. the Arabic, Hebrew or Latin alphabet) differentiating between r and l Tanaka-san’s middle name is written with a grapheme which stands for the phoneme /l/. So there’s no need for feeling bad about using an l. After all, I’m pretty sure his birth certificate states “Tulio”, since Brazilian bureaucrats usually use a Latin-derived alphabet. But maybe I’m missing something. If so, please explain further why you prefer Turio.
        Thanks for the kanji. It’s interesting that Tanaka-san is using the characters for “fight” and “king” to write his middle name. It really fits knowing his way of playing football, but I guess he just wanted to have a cool-looking name.
        I’d love to join the wiki, but right now there’s no spare time left for learning how to use a wiki and adding/editing something to/in it. So for now it’s just giving my two cents via comments every now and then. Sumimasen.

  3. Hughes: I give the name that way because it is written in Kanji and I use normal transcription rules for those. I don’t transcribe his birth name, but the name he has now as he is a Japanese citizen. Of course I understand why you would do otherwise, but for me this has got something to do with treating people equally. I treat this name in the same way I would treat every other name of a Japanese person.

Leave a Reply

