Mangakas @ Work

by slyborg

Being a fan of the genre, always interested in the process of actually making manga/anime (although not interested enough to subject myself to Bakuman).  However, I came across a set of cool videos from the graphics tablet company Wacom featuring various Japanese mangakas/illustrators at work using Wacom’s Cintiq tablets. These are definitely pro-level cost at $1800 for the 21UX and nearly $3000 for the new 24HD, but if I were in the biz I would make the investment in a heartbeat. I believe that much of the Japanese industry still works with pen and ink, but Kumeta-sensei has had a Mac for more than a decade and makes occasional reference to it in his works, but I don’t know if he does any of SZS digitally.

Anyway, I found the drawing process fascinating to watch, and the vids have cool background music, so I thought I’d share a couple of these here. My personal blog, etc.

Mel Kishida (Sora no Woto, Kamisama no Memochou, Hanasaku Iroha character designer)

Ume Aoki (Hidamari Sketch mangaka, Madoka Magica character designer, asked Wacom for a w i d e r tablet)

Asato Mizu (Denki-Gai no Honya-san mangaka)

It so happens that I’m interested in doing Honya-san since we don’t have enough to do around here…we’ll see if another group picks it up…

2 Comments to “Mangakas @ Work”

  1. Thanks for these been wanting to watch more after seeing Kaoru Mori and Shintaro Kagos videos.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this, wicked cool to see how it all comes together.

Leave a Reply

