Joshiraku Anime

by suimasenscans

I don’t really have too much anime, but the news floating around today is that Joshiraku is getting an anime.  Exact dates and the studio to produce it haven’t been announced, but I’d be willing to bet that it’s a summer anime, and based on Kumeta’s past experiencing, it’ll be another SHAFT production. Don’t quote me on that, because I’m just guessing.

By the way, we need Joshraku tankobon raws for volumes 2 and 3. I’d much prefer to typeset on those instead of magazine raws, seeing as they’re available in higher quality (at least theoretically). Let us know if you can find them or know where to find them.

Oyashiro

10 Comments to “Joshiraku Anime”

  1. This is quite possibly the thing I would have picked dead last to ever get an anime adaptation. I’d inclined to suspect an OVA rather than a full series. For one thing, I don’t think there’s enough material.

    And if SHAFT is going to make a show with no audience… SZS S4 fw <_<

  2. I have examined Amazon.com Japan and they seem to have available volumes 1 and 2 of Joshiraku. I believe that volume 3 was only recently issued. I have ordered books from foreign countries before through Amazon.com, but not from Japan. The Amazon program is supposed to do a currency conversion (it will do a dollar to English pound conversion, for instance) but I don’t know if it will do yen. The price per volume in yen seems to be very reasonable, but I don’t know what the postage would be. If you click on the button on the right-hand side of the Amazon.com Japan screen, it will translate most of the screen from Japanese to English. Your efforts are greatly appreciated. I find this series very amusing.

  3. It seems to me that Joshiraku is a show with an audience. The series is successful enough to have been reprinted in tankobon form in Japan, where it seems to be selling reasonably well. Its style of humor is the same as in Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei, and SZS has had three TV anime series and 2 sets of OVAs and the volumes are selling well even in the United States. I don’t see any reason why that success cannot be duplicated by Joshiraku. I also note that the K-on girls do even less than the ones in Joshiraku, and I would not exactly call that franchise a failure.

  4. Speaking of anime, I’m still keeping my fingers crossed hoping Kate ni Kaizou OVA 6 will be released soon =3

  5. Joshiraku anime.
    FUCK YES.
    I find it very unlikely for it to be anything else than a SHAFT production, even if it is slightly less random than other animated Kumeta-sensei works.
    Regarding SZS S4, well, when SHAFT runs out of Bakemonogatari and Madoka money (spends it all on key artists)… Quite unlikely though, unless Nisemonogatari flops completely and I can’t see how that would happen.
    …and yes, I am a massive SHAFTfag.

  6. masada here

    this is exciting news

    joshi 14 is looking like a summer release

  7. graduating college soon, the summer release it looking hopeful

  8. J.C.STAFF will be doing the animation. Seems like Shaft is bussy with the monogatari series.

Leave a Reply

