Going on Hiatus (Oyashiro)

by suimasenscans

Hey everyone. Due to some recent developments, I’m done with scanlating at the moment. I’ve tried working on Getenrou 5 nearly every day for the last week, and I just don’t have the willpower to do it. Last night, I realized that I wasn’t enjoying what I was doing anymore, and have decided to to take a break and jump back in whenever I’m feeling better about it. I don’t know how long that’s going to take. Back when I started, I was watching anime and reading manga pretty regularly. Recently, I’ve only had time for work and doing a little bit as far as scanlating goes. I’d like to free up some of that time and recover from some of the burnout I’ve been feeling towards scanlation.

Suimasen for disappointing the group, and most of all, the readers. I hate to dump off my workload on the others in the group, but I’m just not capable of doing it right now. Hopefully I’ll be back soon, but if not, thanks for everything. It’s been a (mostly) wonderful 3 years.

14 Comments to “Going on Hiatus (Oyashiro)”

  1. Sorry to hear that. I know I’ve been enjoying SZS and I have to thank you for all the work you put into it.
    All the best!

  2. Everyone needs to take some time off sooner or later. Thanks for your work and hope to hear from you again.

  3. Omedetou – otona ni narimashita.

    No disappointment here…anybody who has done this for more than a month knows where you’re coming from. Thanks for all the fish, and hope to see you around chan. (Unlike meki, whose apparitions we still dread… :p)

    By my estimate, Oya personally typeset more than half of our 274 releases, which is yeoman work so matter how you look at it, so we have big shoes to fill here. As always, if you have an interest in this work, come by #suimasenscans and say hi…

    (Oh. Getenrou 5 psds to DB please Oya.)

  4. Will anyone be picking up Joshiraku?

  5. I notice that you are looking for quality raws for volumes 2 and 3 of Joshiraku. I note that the volumes are available fairly cheaply from Amazon.com.jp. I can purchase them and mail them to any address you like. I don’t have any kind of scanning capability so I will have to mail them. If anyone is interested in having me do this, please let me know.

    • Joshi isn’t dropped, and I’m planning on obtaining the tanks myself, but thanks for the offer…

      • You are welcome. Note that the price on Amazon.com.jp is really cheap, especially if you buy used copies. I don’t know what the postage comes to though. Thanks for continuing Joshiraku. I think it will get more popular when the anime comes out in a few months time.

  6. Come back with alive and kicking, have a good time till then🙂

  7. I can personally vouch for Oya’s mega-dedication and fully support him in doing whatever the heck he wants.

  8. I’m so sorry to hear this. It’s never good when you lose inspiration for something you really care about. Best of luck in deciding your next move, Oyashiro.

  9. I came to thank the team for Tokkyuu, so thanks ya’ll!
    And Good going with your life to Oya, since this is your post ^^

  10. 39083 (Although I think you can read it anyway: The same, a bit clearer: 39, 08-3). 気をつけて

  11. I want to say that Root Paradise ch03 page 043 is missing!!

  12. An progress made on the final KnK OVA?

Leave a Reply

