Last Dance (SZS 301a)

by slyborg

It even has a lot of pictures of characters sitting down in dramatic lighting!

All good things must come to an end. Kumeta-sensei’s official finale to the Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei serialization has arrived this week, and it is a bittersweet moment for our group, which came into being specifically as a result of this work. It’s been just three years and change for us, but seven for the manga, which spawned 3 anime adaptations and 6 OVAs, and created a legion of fans of B&W girls with oversize feet and glaring personality flaws. We’re sorry to see it go, but look forward to hopefully more from Kōji Kumeta.

>> Get SZS 301a here <<
>> TL Notes <<
[Translator: Umin Typesetter: Oyashiro Proofreader: slyborg]

We’ll hopefully get some TL Notes up this week for this chapter.

So, we must observe that this release actually hasn’t officially happened. Some konbini ninjas or yakuza or deranged otakus managed to get their hands on early copies of Magazine, and posted it to the denizens of 2ch. This quickly made its way to 4chan and hence to us. As a result, raws aren’t up to our usual standard, but we’ll replace them with better copies as available. There has been such interest in the finale that we felt it warranted an alpha release, and Oyashiro speed typeset this in record time, so suimasen for lesser quality.

Now it’s possible that this is an enormous tease and troll by Kumeta, and that the real finale has flying bears or an interview with Maedax-G in a tub of miso, or more pictures of Kumeta-sensei in a tub with Maeda. If that happens, we will bring you scanlations of these revelations as soon as possible. But I doubt it. A wee bit.

In other news, Oya is working on more Hokkenshitsu, I am still working on 2wei, and we would like to work on more things, so send more staffers.

Oya wanted me to add this, since he felt it was relevant.

16 Comments to “Last Dance (SZS 301a)”

  1. Thank you for the release.

  2. Hey cool! But whats this? It makes no sense since we missed the ones before it. Get on that shit mang.

    • We’re working on it. Our original plan was to start typesetting from chapter 289, which is where the plot, if SZS can be said to have one, really starts getting interesting. However, [Nutbladder] released chapter 300 sometime in the last 48 hours. Having worked on this for 3 1/2 years, I didn’t want someone to preempt us on the ending, so I went ahead and did this as soon as raws were available.

      If you want to get a basic understanding of the ending, just pop into IRC and I’ll explain it to you there. I don’t want spoil the rest of the ending for you. (I guess we did a terrible job going about this, though)

  3. Thanks for your hard work. Mission accomplished. It feels like a satisfying conclusion. As the previous correspondent stated, I assume we need to read some of the prior episodes. I note that Kumeta is now up to four volumes of Joshiraku.

  4. I notice there is an empty chair in your masthead.

  5. I really hate to ask this…but is it possible for when you release to make sure the single digit numbers have at least 2 or three 0s to pad them? As an example instead of just 1.jpg it’d be 001.jpg.

    Most of the readers I use end up having the numbers out of order otherwise. It’s not really a big deal as I can easily open the rar/zip and make the adjustments myself, it’s just one day you guys might decide to release a 60 or 70 page chapter and then I’m fucked.

    • Sorry. I usually use a zero or two to pad the page numbers, but I was kind of working on this at the end of a 29-hour day and I just kind of stuck with the raw numbering scheme because I was tired and using the least amount of effort necessary to get this done. We’re going to redo this once we get actual decent magazine raws, and I don’t think this will be a problem then.

  6. Thank you for all the work you have done up to this moment. I haven’t actually caught up to the manga, but I somewhat felt it would end this way. Of course, I had no idea what was going on between the beginning to 10.jpg. Still though. Anyways, I hope Del Ray would hasten the English publication of the manga so I can soon purchase the whole series.

  7. thanks for this…

  8. Many thanks for the release, even with the dread and sorrow of knowing this has finally come to an end. Hopefully the preceding chapters came swiftly enough to bring a plot (of all things) going to the end.

  9. So, is this the true last chapter? I mean, the magazine went out already, right?

  10. This isn’ the complete chapter? You are missing five pages. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

