Finale Redux (SZS Final Arc)

by slyborg

szs-final-blogSo, after way too much work, we present to you our final version of the final story arc of Sayonara Zetsubō Sensei by Kōji Kumeta. Actually, it might be better to call it the only story arc in the manga, since by nature it was an episodic work, endlessly referential of course, but by and large without any kind of dramatic plot. Unless you really believe that Kumeta had this planned from the start, and that may be the case, although I remain skeptical. But retconned or not, it really is a surprisingly touching tale and a fine way to end such a long-running manga.

What I’m calling the “final arc” are the chapters beginning with 297 for which there are no separate title pages in the tankōbon, indicating to me at least that Kumeta intended these to be read as a unit. That includes the “epilogue” chapter “30X” or 302 numerically. Suimasen had previously released 300-301 on their magazine versions, but 301 adds 2 additional pages in the tank, so these should be considered definitive, for those who may have seen Oya’s Xmas Eve early dump of our initial drafts on /a/…

>> Get SZS 297 here <<  >> Mirror <<    TL Notes [TL: Umin Clean: taketori Edit: slyborg Proof: pseu]
>> Get SZS 298 here <<  >> Mirror <<    TL Notes [TL: Umin Clean: taketori Redraw: Oyashiro Edit: slyborg Proof: pseu]
>> Get SZS 299 here <<  >> Mirror <<    TL Notes [TL: Umin Clean: taketori Edit: slyborg Proof: pseu]
>> Get SZS 300 here <<  >> Mirror <<    TL Notes [TL: Umin Clean: taketori Edit: slyborg,Oyashiro Proof: slyborg]
>> Get SZS 301 here <<  >> Mirror <<    TL Notes [TL: Umin Clean: taketori Edit: Oyashiro Proof: slyborg]
>> Get SZS 30X here <<  >> Mirror <<    TL Notes [TL: Umin  Edit: GreenTea Proof: slyborg]

It’s obviously been a long wait since the manga actually ended it’s run in June 2012, but life has its ways of going around the long way. One of the reasons that I’ve kept slogging away at this and harassing our few staffers here is the base of support the manga and its animated renditions continue to have even after this much time. The ending has become somewhat notorious, and I felt it was a disservice for us not to make a fully translated version available so people can read what the fuss was about themselves.

Getting kind of long here, but want to note the contribution of our new cleaner taketori, as well as the sudden uncloaking of our edit sensei Oyashiro, who appeared without warning, typeset things in a flash, and then vanished back into the Neutral Zone again, having failed in his attempt to get a Xmas release out of me ._.

Since I sort of promised, and it does seem like most of vol. 30 actually was stage-setting for the finale, we will finish the rest of this tankōbon. Whether we do any more or not will largely depend on whether we can get another taketori or two in here…

[Fixed the d/l for 298 to remove the extra pages, suimasen :/]

17 Comments to “Finale Redux (SZS Final Arc)”

  1. this has made my day (my week… the rest of the year:D)
    thank you.

  2. I love you guys.

  3. I’ve been waiting to finish reading SZS for a long time, even though /a/ spoilered it for me a bit.

    Thanks a lot guys.

  4. I know the manga is episodic, but even that being the case, I don’t want to read the ending without reading before the rest of the series. I haven’t found nowhere chapters 191-195, 197-205, 212, 216-220, 251-255, 257-259, 285-288, 291 and 293-296 (that’s over 12% of the total). Are you going to translate them? If not, do you know where can I find them (the chapter, not a summary)?

    • You’re going to have a tough time with One Piece…

      • From what I know, each an every of the chaptersof One Piece is translated. The only thing is that the author tends to take reccesses, but there’s no percentage of random (not so random9 untranslated chapters.

    • Dude, I know the pain, this manga has been on my wishlist for months/years, in my country is not available and I can’t find all the chapters literally nowhere. On the readers online usually there are about 105 missing chapters. I hope one day the situation may change.

  5. Thank you for your excellent work.

  6. From the bottom of my blackened heart, thank you guys for all the SZS work over the years!! (well, and for all the other translations you’re doing…)

  7. Wow, totally different ending.
    But it wasn’t bad, at least it was an ending.

  8. You included chapter pages 8 and 9 of 297 in chapter 298 download (with the correct page as well).

  9. I would like to say thank you for you guys for translating these chapter.
    Now i finally (completely) understand the ending of this manga.

    Suimasen,suimasen,suimasen, i know that this is a bit late but i would like to thanks for translating this manga.
    For me, this manga is the best manga ever!!!!

    I know that this is a bit selfish of me but could you please translate all the remaining chapter that is not translated.
    PLEASEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!

    ZETSUBOUSHITA, all the untranslated chapter had let me in despair!!!!

    And suimasen,suimasen,suimasen, im sorry if im bothering you and im sorry because i was born.

  10. Suimasen,suimasen,suimasen!!
    Im sorry for bothering again,but can you guys also translated Kumeta-sensei next work, the Sekkachi Hakushaku to Jikan Dorobou .Im looking foward for this manga.
    Hope you guys can help.

  11. Thanks a lot!! \(-ㅂ-)/ ♥ ♥ ♥

    As for finding help… have you tried the forums at MangaFox and MangaHelpers? If so, then… incessantly nag /a/. INCESSANTLY!! (งಠ_ಠ)ง

  12. I don’t know if it’s because I’m never going to see Tsunetsuki again or if it’s the Traumerei talking, but I’m legit depressed right now.

    I can’t really find the right words to express my gratitude, but: As someone who’s had your blog bookmarked for god knows how many years now, thank you from the bottom of my heart for bringing us the ending.

Leave a Reply

